Sharing Access

google-analytics-explained_sharing_access

If you have implemented Google Analytics to track your website statistics, you might have had the need to share that data with co-workers and marketing or technology consultants to make further analysis and improvements. While Google Analytics has export and reporting functionalities, sometimes it is just easier to give people a direct access to your Google Analytics account. However, you have to be very careful when sharing access to your Google Analytics accounts as there are many privileges or permissions you can assign.

Have you given edit permission to a technology consultant that were hired to create goals and filters in a specific view level but given account level edit permissions that allowed him/her to potentially erase, edit or even damage your data in other properties and views? Maybe? Not sure? Well, in this article you are going to learn how to share your Google Analytics data correctly, so that you can ensure it’s being exposed to the right person and at the right level or scope.

According to Google Analytics help page, there are several data sharing settings in your Analytics account. These settings let you customize how you share with Google the data that you collect using an Analytics data collection method (like the JavaScript tracking code, mobile SDKs, and the Measurement Protocol), so you can be more open or more restrictive with your data based on your own preferences. Remember that your data can be shared only with people that already have Google accounts.

First let’s learn about User’s Permissions:

There are four permissions available that you can apply singly or in combination:

  1. Manage Users:
    • Can manage account users (add/delete users, assign permissions).
    • Does not include Edit or Collaborate.
  1. Edit:
    • Can perform administrative and report-related functions (e.g., add/edit/delete accounts, properties, views, filters, goals, etc., but not manage users).
    • Can see report data.
    • Edit permission is required at the account level to create filters.
    • Edit permission is required at the view level to apply filters.
    • Includes Collaborate.
  1. Collaborate:
    • Can create personal assets, and share them.
    • Can collaborate on shared assets, for example, edit a dashboard or annotation.
    • Includes Read & Analyze.
  1. Read & Analyze:
    • Can see report and configuration data.
    • Can manipulate data within reports (e.g., filter a table, add a secondary dimension, create a segment).
    • Can create and share personal assets and see shared assets.
    • Cannot collaborate on shared assets.

Remember that Google lets you have multiple accounts. Each account can have multiple properties and each property can have many views. Parent permissions are inherited by default (account > property > view). For example, when you set permissions for a user at the account level, that user then has those same permissions for all the properties and views in that account.

As you progress down the hierarchy, you can give more permissions, but not fewer, e.g., if a user has Read & Analyze permission at the account level, you can then also grant Edit permission at the property or view level; but if a user has Edit permission at the account level, you can’t limit permission to just Read & Analyze at the property level.

Now that we now all about user’s permissions, let’s learn how to assign them to the users we want to share our Google Analytics data.

Add users

You can add as many users you want. To add users to an account, property or view, please read the following instructions:

  1. Sign in to your Analytics Account
  2. Select the Admin tab and navigate to the desired account, property or view.

Sharing

  1. In the ACCOUNT, PROPERTY, or VIEW column (depending upon whether you want to add the user at the account, property, or view level), click User Management. In this example we’ll share access at a PROPERTY level.

Sharing2

  1. Under Add permissions for, enter the email address for the user's Google Account. In this example we added tommyexample@gmail.com email address.
  2. Select the permissions you want. In this case, we choose a Read & Analyze Permission to tommyexample@gmail.com
  3. Select Notify this user by emailto send a notification to each user you're adding.
  4. Click Add.

Sharing3

Modify users

You can modify the permissions for any user at any level in an Analytics account. For example, if you have given a user Read & Analyze permission for a single view, you can then also give the user Edit permission for only that view. Or you can give that user Edit permission at the property level, and therefore by default he would have Edit permission for every view in that property.

To modify permissions for an existing user, please follow the instructions bellow:

  1. Sign in to your Analytics account.
  2. Select the Admin tab and navigate to the desired account/property/view.
  3. In the ACCOUNT, PROPERTY, or VIEW column (depending upon whether you want to modify permissions at the account, property, or view level), click User Management. In this example we are going to select a property.
  4. Use the search box at the top of the list to find the user you want. Enter a full or partial address (e.g., tommyexample@gmail.com or tommyexample).
  5. Use the selector in the Property Permissionscolumn to add or remove permissions for the user. In this example we’ll assign an Edit permission to the user tommyexample@gmail.com
  6. Click Save.

Sharing4

sharing5

Delete users

Although you can add users at any level in the account hierarchy, you can delete users only at the account level.

To delete a user:

  1. Sign in to your Analytics account.
  2. Select the Admin tab and navigate to the desired account.
  3. In the ACCOUNT column, click User Management.Use the search box at the top of the list to find the user you want.
  4. Enter a full or partial address (e.g., tommyexample@gmail.com or tommyexample).
  5. Click deletefor the user you want to delete.

sharing6

sharing7

Note that from the Account level you can also manage the user’s permissions through the Account Permissions row. In the previous example, we gave only Edit permission in a Property level to the user tommyexample@gmail.com, so that’s why in the Account level that contains that property, you see “None” in the box inside the Account Permissions row.

sharing8

Also you can manage user’s permissions at every level of the hierarchy (account, property or view) if you select “Permissions assigned at property or view level”.

sharing9

This blue sentence will appear only if we previously gave user permissions in a property or view level but not in the account level that contains those properties and views. Thus, clicking there you will have a better picture to manage user permissions at every property and view level inside a certain account - as shown in the image below.

sharing10

Now you have all the knowledge required to share your Google Analytics data appropriately with any person you wish. Remember to determine what kind of permissions or privileges a user needs or deserves and then start sharing!

Do you have any questions or suggestions? Please write them below! I’ll be pleased to read and answer them.

Want to learn more on Google Analytics? Subscribe.

 

If you like my articles,